•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

4.0 Block Heater

TillamookB2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
Before I drop this 4.0 OHV into my B2, I want to put in a freeze plug type block heater. I've never done it before. Is there a preferred method?

RonD

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
No, not really any preferred method, just the obvious.

Make sure it is in a "core hole"(real term for expansion hole, lol) that is easy to get to if there is a leak or rust out issue in the future.
Make sure 110vAC wire has enough slack to move with engine and will not get burned by exhaust pipe.
Route 110vAC wire out thru rad support hole and attach near grill so hood doesn't need to be opened to connect to power, steel will cut thru wire over time so make sure anywhere is passes thru a hole it is protected against chaffing.

You can get covers for male 110vAC plugs so it remains clean and dry when not plugged in.
Example here:
http://www.amazon.com/Kats-28405-Volt-Cord-Cover/dp/B000I8YPX2

Last edited:

vwa1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Kats heaters should come with instructions that tell you where to install the heater and which way to clock the element. Not sure if it matters, but they want you to put it in a specific hole. I think it should also have torque spec to tighten. They just use like a butterfly clamp to hold in place, so it's easy to over-tighten if you're not careful. OEM is always the easiest way to go because they have clear instructions on installation and routing, and they usually have all the clips, covers to prevent chaffing etc already included. Also, the cord is usually able to be replaced separately if needed.

Last edited:

Catterman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
2.9V6