•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

84 bronco running hot/ vapor lock

Taylormadebronco2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford Bronco2
Hey guys. Newbie here. First post. I’ve got an 84 bronco 2 with 2.8 and C5 automatic. As long as it’s cool outside, say 70 degrees or below, she runs great. When it’s warmer outside temps will climb all the way to 230 degrees on my manual gauge. Around 200, the truck will begin to vapor lock. I have installed new water pump, three flue radiator, electric cooling fan, removed the thermostat completely, and installed electric fuel pump and have flushed the cooling system even though I don’t think it needed it. Still vapor locks at warm outside temps especially if you idle for long at all say like in a line at the bank teller. Have purchased the stuff to install fuel filter with a fuel return line back to tank. Was just wondering if any of you have run into this or have any ideas. Truck never actually runs hot, ie doesn’t boil over but it will vapor lock to the point of not cranking until it cools off considerably.

duffy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford Bronco II
You deleted the thermostat? I'd put it back in there, and use a 190 or 195. You will have the problem you describe without a thermostat.

JerryC

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
What do you mean when you say it vapor locks?

A vapor lock won't keep the starter from cranking the engine over. If the starter won't crank, you need a new starter and/or you need to shield the starter from heat sources such as the exhaust.