•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

changing engines

emo666

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Replacing a worn out 2.9 with air and auto trans with a rebuilt 2.9.
I'm not a novice but would like some experienced advice.
1. Is there a special wrench available for the distributor bolt??
2. When pulling the old engine had to remove both upper -lower manifold and distributor to access the top bell housing bolts. NO ROOM.
3. when reinstalling the new engine does all this have to be installed on short block when installed??
I would like to be able to install mostly everything on the engine stand to make sure I get a good seal.
5. I'm not real happy about having to install the distributor after the new engine is in but that's what I can see now.
6. Is there a different way that I don't see??

P.S I have a old manual but it just says put things back in reverse order.

adsm08

Ford Technician
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
There is a special wrench that is made for the dis bolt. I bought one years ago and found it to be largely useless as a medium length 13mm wrench fits better and has better range of motion. I also have ad great success using a flex-head ratcheting 13mm on the upper bell bolts, and been able to remove both easily with everything else in place. In fact, those are usually the first two pieces to come out when I remove my transmission.

I have managed on several occasions to pull out and reinstall fully dressed 2.9s, complete from fan to clutch. I generally only take the TFI and dis cap off because they are plastic and can be easily broken if they hit the firewall or cowl. If my strap is not long enough I will remove the upper intake, but it's not usually and issue. For some reason it was really easy to just slide them in and out of my truck, but the BII I had to tip it and then turn it transverse to the body. I think it's the Evap box that gets in the way.

lil_Blue_Ford

V8 Engine Swap