•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

I'm in a bind and need driveshaft help

macd7919

Reaction score
Hey guys, so my CV drive shaft took a crap on me the other day. I had a spare used double cardan drive shaft with the flanges on it. I ended up finally getting it on (had to let the rear end hang as low as possible and loosen the trans mount bolts to pry it forward) but anyways, I got it on and buttoned up. My problem is now I have a pretty hefty vibration as I accelerate. It doesn't seem as bad on the high way but is very noticeable at slow speeds and is somewhat noticeable at high speeds.

What could I have done wrong? I forgot to mark the diff when I removed the old one but the balancing weights are still on the new driveshaft and I can't imagine it being off would cause this much vibration but I'm not that experienced with this problem. Any help is appreciated, I have a 600 mile trip I have to make on friday so I'm stressing out big time. I'd appreciate any help I can get.

If it makes a difference I dropped the rear end down awhile back to do some helper springs in the rear. I just bolted it back up with the new springs in without doing anything else, I still had the CV shaft at the time and didn't have any vibration.

One thing I should have mentioned earlier. I have a m50d tranny swap. The Double Cardan shaft I'musing is out of a TK5 based setup (I think) When I put it in it seemed as though it had to be fully compressed to fit in place of the cv style which came out easily. I had to jack the car up, lower the rear as much as I could and then loosen the tranny bolts and slide the trans forward just to barely squeeze the new shaft in. I don't think there would be much movement left in the fitting, maybe a 1/4 inch at best. Am I using a shaft thats too long? I'm desperate here guys, I have an appointment I can't miss tomm 300 miles away. Anything you can do I would appreciate.

Last edited:

heptofite

Reaction score