•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

New to me - 85 B2. Cranks, but won't idle

troygandee

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Hi everyone,

I mistakenly thought my new B2 was a 2.9, but apparently it's a 2.8. Below is the post I made in the 2.9 thread a couple of days ago to try to get some help. I've been told that the 85 2.8L was still on a manual pump and hence does not have a fuel pump that's accessible or could be heard(?) when the key is on. That would also mean there is no inertia switch. Other than that, I'm still unable to get it to idle. It will crank, but I have to accelerate to keep it on. It will make a couple of small backfire sounds. As soon as I let off of the gas, it will die. Any thoughts? I'm going to replace the fuel filter this week.

"I'm a new member. I just bought an '85 manual 5 speed yesterday. I have very little knowledge of cars, but I can usually figure things out pretty quickly. I bought the truck from a gentleman yesterday and he cranked it right up. I piddled around the parking lot in 1st and all was fine. I bought it and started to drive it home. Admittedly, I haven't driven a straight in close to 10 years, so I think I dogged it a little. I ended up shaking the ball at the end of the shifter loose and the stranded myself. Fortunately, I was able to tow it home and the guy I bought it from told me that those balls are prone to come loose. I was able to get that fixed today. However, now I can't get it to idle. I'm able to crank the truck, but I have to give it gas to keep it running. The second I let off the gas, it will die. I don't know enough about it to know how many of the components are newer, but I know the engine was rebuilt about 40k ago according to the sticker on the door. I know that truck cranked right up 3 or 4 times yesterday until I had my stalling debacle. Does anyone have any suggestions? I was planning to check spark plugs and fuel filter tm.