•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

R 12 recharge kit

Tex9367

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Bronco II
So I called autozone asking if they sold R 12 air conditioning kits. They told me that they are so old and that I need to change my air conditioning unit to 134. I found recharge kits for R 12s online and I was wondering which brand of a recharge kit should I get? I don't want to change to 134 because I want to keep my 1990 Bronco II a classic.
BTW I am very new to the Ford family and even newer to broncos in general.

Uncle Gump

Forum Moderator
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Bronco II
Suspension Style
4wd
I thought you had to have a licence to buy R12?

My fleet has either come with R134a from the factory or has been converted.

Tex9367

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Bronco II
I see kits sold at like Walmart and the like. I'm just trying to get a recharge kit. I think the license maybe getting the whole unit maybe?

broncogal

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1989 Loaded XLT
Vehicle
Ford Bronco II
Engine Size
2.9 V6
Suspension Style
4wd
My credo
"Can't Never Did Shit"
Hello, First off, the rules and regulations on buying and or selling Refrigerant are Very Clear, but Vague to Most People. You MAY, or MAY NOT be asked for your EPA Card (license) depending on who you buy from. Now, as you may know, R-12 was on the Environmental hit list First in 1994-95, and was banned from manufacture. BUT, It was so popular, and So much Made, you can still find it every now and then on eBay, without producing your EPA card. Keep in mind, your system holds 3 to 4 pounds of R-12, and if you are short (undercharged), you have a leak, that will NOT fix itself, and needs to be repaired or you will need to keep feeding it Refrigerant. As far as a kit goes, you can find an old set of gages, and a can tap online, and at yard sales for very cheap, if you look real hard.

Good Luck