•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

1988 Bronco 2, Installing a Power Inverter

wildbill23c

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford Bronco II
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Suspension Style
4wd
My credo
19K, 19D, 92Y, 91F
What's the recommended way to install a power inverter? I was thinking using a circuit breaker rather than a fuse, but what size should the circuit breaker be? I have access to a 5,000 watt inverter so that will be what gets installed.

I was also thinking of hooking the inverter up to a 2nd battery then using a battery isolator so I can charge both batteries but running the inverter will not drain the cranking battery.

JerryC

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
I'm not an engineer, this is just my way...
The circuit breaker will be used to protect the wire, so you size it according the amp load the wire can handle. The breaker must trip at less amps than the wire fails at.
You size the wire based off the max amp load of the inverter plus some extra for things like length and connectors and surge draw.
As rough examples, inverter fuse is a 50a, you size wire for 60a+ and the breaker for 55a. This way the breaker trips before the wire cooks and sets your truck on fire.

wildbill23c

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford Bronco II
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Suspension Style
4wd
My credo
19K, 19D, 92Y, 91F
The stuff I kept finding online keeps mentioning 400+ amp fuses or circuit breakers, but that doesn't sound right, or maybe it is. Since its going to be planned for a 3,000 to 5,000 watt continuous inverter, does a 400amp or higher fuse or circuit breaker sound right? The other issue is getting the proper wiring. Maybe this is a job for an electronics shop to do, they probably would know exactly what needs done. I'll try and see what I can find for information I guess.

Yes, I'd rather have it done right than destroy the vehicle.

JerryC

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle