•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

2.9 oil leak blues

eversmile

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
newbie / novice here.

I have a 1989 bronco ii that has a pretty good oil leak on the front part of the engine. The vehicle sat for a long time when I bought it in Carlsbad NM. I drove it to houston around thanksgiving and it actually runs pretty good. Been reading up on the forums and have tried a couple of things.

Oil splatters all over the front of the engine. Firewall, alternator, air filter box, water hoses, are all soaked. The front suspension is soaked too. The belt closest to the engine has oil on it which is why the alternator is soaked. I replaced the valve cover gaskets, front seal (the one behind harmonic balancer) and pcv valve.

It looks like the o ring on the distributor is not leaking.

I was thinking timing cover but realized that I would probably screw up the oil pan gasket to take it apart.

As far as the pan goes, there is oil around it but I am not certain it is the pan gasket itself.

I am trying to rule out things before I get to the dreaded oil pan and rear main... Any thoughts on what else it could be? BTW, I don't have the means or know how to pull the engine right now.

CarsonChris

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990/87
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
4.0/2.9
Pulling the engine isn't any more difficult than what you did to change the valve cover gaskets. Since you've done that you have enough expertise to pull an engine. The means may be the problem. Ask some buddies or check on Craigslist. I see cherry pickers for 50$ all the time.

RonD

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Pulling the engine for an oil leak is a little over the top, especially if oil is showing up in the front of the engine compartment.

Front of engine with that much spray sure sounds like a front crank seal or timing chain cover.
There are gravity leaks and pressure leaks.