•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

5.0 motor questions

dutinsss

Reaction score
ok, i'm going to explain what i want to do and see if it sounds right, so here it goes! (i've never done this before, so bear with me)

'98 mountaineer 5.0 with a carb and carb intake(haven't decided specifics)

for my fuel system i'll have an electric fuel pump. still don't know exactly how to wire it.

for starting, i will have a wire from the battery, to a button in the cab, to the starter solenoid, then a wire to the starter.

i'd like to use a 1-wire alternator so i'll just need to mount the alternator and run a wire from it, to the battery. if the motor comes with an alternator i'll use it to save money.

i'll use the hei ignition system, so i'll just need a wire from the battery, to the distributer.

i guess i'll find an explorer radiator and mount an electric fan to it for cooling.

if there's anything i'm missing or getting wrong, please let me know. thanks.

i do know one thing i haven't even looked into is power steering.

Last edited:

mikepotts

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
i hate to help a guy using chevy stuff, but... here is a link to a pretty good wiring diagram for a 12v relay...
http://www.stu-offroad.com/electrical/elec8/backup-1.htm

just remember,

30 = 12 hot from battery (fuse it)
86 = ground
85 = switched 12 v (trigger)
87, 87a = normally open and normally closed cant remember which is which, but this is the one which goes to the relayed device fuel pump, cooling fan ect.

dutinsss

Reaction score
also, will any 302 intake manifold, heads, starter, etc fit on any 302 motor? just wondering because i notice a starter for a mountaineer is 3x the price of one for a fox body mustang and so on.

Last edited:

mikepotts

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score