•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

Bronco II 2.9 high idle and seems to be running hot

Bronco2mania

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
I just bought a 1990 Ford Bronco II with the 2.9L V6. I'm somewhat new to these motors, so I'm going to need a little help. Here's the problem: the motor seems to be idling rather high and possibly running a little bit hot. Any suggestions? Also, is it normal for the thing to run at 5000rpm to go 60mph???? Thanks for any help.

removebe4flight

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
I just bought a 1990 Ford Bronco II with the 2.9L V6. I'm somewhat new to these motors, so I'm going to need a little help. Here's the problem: the motor seems to be idling rather high and possibly running a little bit hot. Any suggestions? Also, is it normal for the thing to run at 5000rpm to go 60mph???? Thanks for any help.
Hell nah 5000rpm is about double or triple what it should be. In overdrive mine is about 2k and in drive it is 2900. But, I have my timing advanced alittle more for that extra go juice. As, far as idle. The ICV (idle control valve) controls it. They get pretty dirty. Just take it off soak it in throttlebody cleaner. You should be able to shake it and hear the valve move inside. clean a new gasket out of some 8 dollar gasket sheet and plug back in. hope this helps.

wildbill23c

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford Bronco II
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Suspension Style
4wd
My credo
19K, 19D, 92Y, 91F