•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

bronco II 4.0 swap

wroberts20

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Engine Size
hey guys i'm new to TRS. i was using this site to help with my 4.0 swap into my 86 BII. i know this is a comman swap, but i am having some trouble with the wiring. i have the complete wire harness. the engine is in the BII, it will turn over. it's almost done. my problem is i am not getting any fire or fuel. i can run a hot wire to the fuel pump, but i cant get the engine to fire. i'm sure there are a couple more wires to connect to eliminate this problem, but i cant find them. i am not good with elctrical components, but i can build an awsome engine. this is my first swap. i have the manuals for both vehicles, and i subscrided to ALLDATA, but i still cant figure this problem out. if anyone can help me out it would be appreciated. thanks

CopyKat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Check all your grounds. Do you have grounds at the ECU.

Are you not getting spark, or no injector response?

what year 4.0L and what is it out of.

wroberts20

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Engine Size
the 4.0 is out of a 92 explorer. i have grounds at the ecm. i've checked all grounds. unless i need to add more grounds. i'm not getting any spark. thanks.

BlackBII

Cheaf of Grammor Poleace
Article Contributor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
No spark?

Are you getting power to the coil pack?

CopyKat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
there are 4 wires on the coil 3 control grounds (1-5, 2-6, 3-4)that go to the spark control module then to ecu as a ground signal, the 4th is 12V power.

I don't remember off hand the order. IIRC the rear most wire (Closest to the firewall) is the 12V. The power should be triggered of of the ignition fuse in teh distribution block.

wroberts20

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Engine Size