•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

Dana 28 Diff swap question?

PeteyGrizz

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L V6
I'm sure to many of you this is a rookie question, but I have no experience with differentials and gears.

I have an 88 B2 which runs great but apparently the rear diff is on its way out. The pinion seal is leaking badly and there is now a slight vibration. It has 3.45 gears. I have a second 89B2 with no motor that has 3.73 gears. I have no problem changing out the entire rear axle assembly. The question is can I just change the pumpkin in the front without removing the beams or getting too involved with the gears, or will it be easier to change the entire axle assembly?

The donor vehicle was in good running order when last driven and considering that I am running 32x11.5" tires the step down in ratio should help.

Thanks

Last edited:

ryan

/mode channel +b *!*@*
Forum Moderator
Reaction score
at the point where you're getting to that bolt to swing the pumpkin out, it might just be easier to swap the whole thing

haulasswithclass

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Engine Size
28 swap

If your swaping dana 28 to dana 28 there is no swing out bolt that dana 35 only.

Hahnsb2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
88-95
Vehicle
Ford-Dodge
Engine Size
4.0-5.2 Turbo
Swing out bolt? As in the pinch bolt? It's been a while since I've messed with a D28 but I swear I remember a pinch bolt.

kunar

Odd One
Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
Swing out bolt? As in the pinch bolt? It's been a while since I've messed with a D28 but I swear I remember a pinch bolt.
i've never heard anybody call it a swing out bolt, but a d28 definitely has a pinch bolt.

haulasswithclass

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Engine Size
dana 28