•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

odd intermittent fuel pressure problems

janderson4010

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
searched but not really finding anything that answers my question.

I have a 86 Bronco II that I swapped a 4.0 in, great engine and a real step up from the 2.9. I've been running it for about 2 years now but I had a problem follow me from the old 2.9, when I run it for a while and especially when I let it sit idling for a minute it will start running really rough, not rev up and eventually die, wait about 30 minutes and it will run again for awhile.

so after replacing the filter, both fuel pumps, and various ignition components, I went an picked up a HF fuel pressure tester and went to town with it. What I am coming up with is 31psi at idle when running normally, jumps to 39 when the engine is quickly revved up, when I turn the engine off I get very quick leak down, much faster than it should be, but I don't think that is my problem.

After I got a baseline I let it idle for a few minutes to induce the problem, and sure enough it started idling poorly and wouldn't rev up, the fuel pressure had dropped to a steady 9-10 psi, and wouldn't come up at all, at first bk of the pressure leak down I suspected the fuel pressure regulator was just bypassing all my pressure through the return line and back to the tank, but when I blocked off the return line with vise grips it it didn't change, just stayed at 9-10. I would expect if the regulator was bad it would go up when I blocked off the return.

so then I decided to see if the pumps were on, with it idling at the 10 psi I listened and couldn't hear the main pump running, and then I shut it off and I could hear the main pump come on with the key but not the lift pump, and I had nothing over 10 psi on the gauge. So in summary I have intermittent fuel pump operation.