•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

engine issues

dirtyhorse

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Another question my engine dose not run well at low rpm it sputters and surges until I put the hammer to the floor and then it goes real good I can't pin point the cause I replaced o2 sensor and new plugs and wires also a new egr sensor and fuel filter idk what else to look into maybe timing but I'm not sure I'm no mechanic I just know enough to get into trouble
:dunno:

wildbill23c

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford Bronco II
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Suspension Style
4wd
My credo
19K, 19D, 92Y, 91F
Could be that the carburetor just needs adjusted. I found out the 2 screws on the front of my carburetor were self adjusting while driving due to weak springs. I pulled the springs off another junk carb and fixed the problem. So try adjusting those 2 front screws I turned mine all the way in till just slightly seated, then backed them out 2-1/2 turns and adjusted from there till it idled smooth. After I did that my fuel economy got extremely better as well, I also tied my choke plate open as the choke wasn't working correctly which caused it to stall and idle very weird sometimes. Another thing I had an issue with on mine was the EGR valve was bad, so it was causing all sorts of weird idling, stalling, hard to start sometimes, etc. I disconnected the vacuum line from it and plugged it and after that I was able to actually tune the carburetor completely.

Last edited:

kimcrwbr1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
ford
Engine Size
2.8l