•  

Click HERE to join our forum and participate in the discussions.

New guy with fuel problems...

Lost Bushman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Just picked up a '89 Bronco II, 4wd, 2.9...

Kid I bought it from chopped the exhaust pipe, causing the fuel pump connection to get melted, I think this fried the pump as well but I'm brand new to Fords, so Here's my situation...

I have the one pump system and I've fabbed my own connections from the old harness to the still existing connecting pins. When I turn the key, I hear the pump prime, but no fuel up to the rail. When I depress the schrader valve, all I hear is air. I removed the inbound line into the fuel filter and a little fuel squirts out upon priming, but it's only about enough to fill a bottle cap.

Is my pump bad? If so, are there viable workable replacements other than the $120 option from the Zone? i.e. Rangers, Explorers, etc?

Secondly, when the harness was melted, the hardline plastic locking fittings normally found at the in/out connections at the tank must've been destroyed and couplers have been put in place connecting the hardlines to standard rubber fuel hose and clamped in. There's no visible leaking fuel, could these connections be my problem rather than the pump, or are they just contributing to an already sorry situation?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!:icon_thumby:

Explorin94

Law Enforcement
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
U.S. Military - Veteran
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
Reverse the wires and see what happens.

Explorin94

Law Enforcement
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
U.S. Military - Veteran
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford
Engine Size
Yeah I was talking about the wires going to the pump. Is it possible that it is hooked up backwards that the pump is running in reverse.

Lost Bushman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Vehicle
Ford